Dudley MPs are on Russia’s banned list over Ukraine crisis

TWO of the Dudley borough MPs are among those banned from entering Russia in retaliatory action against the UK’s response to the invasion of Ukraine.

Russia’s Foreign Ministry said on Wednesday it was taking action against 287 members of the House of Commons in response to sanctions against Russian politicians.

Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov’s department announced the move in response to Britain sanctioning 386 members of the Duma, Russia’s lower house of parliament, last month, accusing the MPs of “stirring up Russophobic hysteria”.

Prime Minister Boris Johnson said MPs ‘should treat it as a badge of honour’, and several politicians welcomed the listing.

Among them was Dudley South MP Mike Wood, who sarcastically said he was “clearly disgusted to have been sanctioned by Putin”.

He told the News he would have to cancel his many planned Russian vacations and “find assets in Russia to freeze” and he said on Facebook: “Not sure this will hurt Ukraine’s valiant resistance much as Putin imagines.”

Halesowen and Rowley Regis MP James Morris, a government whip, was also on the list.

He said: “I am proud to have supported the actions of the British government to resist Russian aggression in Ukraine.

“My listing will not stop me from continuing to speak out about the atrocities they are committing, or from continuing to support our government and our international allies in supporting Ukraine’s right to defend itself and its people. ”

Stourbridge MP Suzanne Webb, Parliamentary Private Secretary to Defense Secretary Ben Wallace MP and Dudley North MP Marco Longhi were not included.

Neither Bromsgrove MP Sajid Javid, the Government’s Health Secretary, nor South Staffordshire Gavin Williamson, who said Russia should ‘go and shut up’ when he was the Kingdom’s Defense Secretary -United.

Christi C. Elwood