Ukrainian news: Russia bans entry of Boris Johnson

The Russian Foreign Ministry said on Saturday it had barred British Prime Minister Boris Johnson, Foreign Secretary Liz Truss, Defense Secretary Ben Wallace and 10 other government officials from entering the country. and British politicians.

The decision was taken “in view of the unprecedented hostile action by the British government, in particular the imposition of sanctions against senior Russian officials”, the ministry said in a statement, adding that it would soon expand the list.

The Kremlin described Johnson, who has been one of Ukraine’s strongest supporters, as “the most active participant in the anti-Russian race.”

A week ago, Johnson visited Kyiv where he and Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskiy praised their cooperation since the Russian invasion, which Moscow calls a “special operation”.

“The UK and our international partners are united in condemning the Russian government’s reprehensible actions in Ukraine and calling on the Kremlin to stop the war,” a UK government spokesman said in response to Moscow’s decision to ban Johnson and other British politicians.

“We remain resolute in our support for Ukraine,” the spokesperson added.

(Reporting by Reuters; Editing by Christina Fincher)

Christi C. Elwood